Hallockville Museum Farm is a non-profit (501 (c)3) organization whose mission is to take visitors back to their agriculture roots. Tours, summer camp, educational programs for children, barn and site rentals, weddings and parties, festivals and craft fairs: these are some of the ways that we connect visitors with our shared agricultural roots. Hallockville Musem Farm is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a Riverhead Town Landmark.
Hallockville is comprised of 28 acres along with 19 historic houses, barns and outbuildings ranging from the mid-18th century Hallock Homestead to the Depression-era Chichanowitcz Farmhouse.
Visitors can tour the museum's buildings, gardens and collections. Experience real farming in the museum's fields and meet Hallockville's friendly cows, sheep and chickens.
Naugles Barn Built in 1938, the Naugles Barn has been completely restored for use as an event facility. The Barn is surrounded by picturesque North Fork farmland and offers a beautiful and authentic country setting for weddings, receptions, dances, and other private and public functions. There is counter space and storage for caterers, modern electric service, and approximately 1500 square feet of floor space for guests. The Naugles Barn was featured in the Fall 2008 issue of Edible East End and additional photographs are available by contacting hallockv@optonline.net.
For outdoor events, the museum grounds at Hallockville offer some of the best views on the North Fork. The 500 acres of preserved natural and farm lands surrounding Hallockville enhance an already beautiful venue that includes historic buildings dating back 250 years.
The Museum gains its name of Hallockville from the Puritan tradition of carving out a piece of the family farm for male heirs of marrying age. By the latter part of the 1800’s many of the houses along Sound Avenue belonged to descendants of Capt. Zachariah Hallock causing locals to refer to the area as “Hallockville.”