The Thrasher Carriage Museum, one of the top collections of horse-drawn vehicles, represents every walk of life from the milkman to the wealthy. Pleasure vehicles, funeral wagons, sleighs, carts, and more are on display in the renovated 19th century warehouse.
Accessories of early travel (hitches, saddles, bearskin lap robes, charcoal foot warmers, and lanterns) are all housed in the 1800s warehouse as part of the museum exhibit.
Horse drawn delivery vehicles lend some interesting stories to the collection. For example, the milkman would not ride, instead he would take a case of milk to deliver door to door. The horse kept the milk wagon moving - the horse knew the route!
This remarkable collection of horse-drawn vehicles was once the private collection of James Richard Thrasher. Mr. Thrasher (or Jim as he was known to friends and family) was born in Midland, Maryland in 1913. He was the oldest son in a family of eight boys and three girls.
In 1975, Mr. Thrasher leased the Midland School from the county and opened a museum to showcase the carriages and carriage accessories he had amassed. The museum remained open until 1987 when James Thrasher passed away. Upon his death, Allegany County government purchased the collection from his estate, thus keeping it intact. Chosen for its proximity to other tourist attractions, the current museum site in Frostburg was opened at the Depot Center in 1991.
19th & 20th century horse drawn carriages
Wheelwright exhibit
accessories of early travel
Specialty Teas
Trunk Shows
Private parties
Receptions
Receptions
Guided tours
Gift Shop
Event Rental
Group Tours